🎉 Say hello to Debs, Product Marketing and Ops Intern at Mono

Debs
Mono
Published in
3 min readNov 6, 2020
Meet Mono

Today, we’re announcing a weekly blog series called ‘meet mono’ that introduces our team members.

Here at Mono, we’re on a mission to provide internet businesses in Africa access to their customers financial and identity data.

It’s impossible to do this without having a relentless team who have a heart for democratising consumer data access in Africa. So we would like to put a spotlight on these amazing talents building, designing and writing for Mono

In this first series, we’ll be having a chat with our ‘PMO’ Intern, Debs.

Tell us about your role

My role sits at the intersection of product management, marketing, and sales. I focus on knowing the customer’s pain points and how the product or service can help them — translating technical functionality into compelling benefits.

Beyond the obsession with the customers needs and their solutions (our products) the ‘Ops’ part of the role involves me ensuring internal processes run smoothly.

What made you want to work for Mono?

Given my background in Finance as an ex Investment Banker at a large American bank and in tech as an ex-Googler, Mono is the perfect opportunity to marry the transformative capabilities that fin-tech has with my love for my continent Africa and more specifically my country of origin, Nigeria.

My introduction to finance was through a Nigerian lens during an internship I did when I was 17 at a Nigerian bank in the UK. Ever since, I’ve been fascinated about the role finance can play in building an equitable and prosperous continent for all.

How has your role evolved since you started at Mono?

I’m still new a newbie at Mono (😅) but in the very beginning it consisted of social content creation and now my role lends itself to product content more broadly; on our new landing page (watch out for that), thought pieces, product updates etc.

I’m constantly having to engage with the product itself so I know precisely what it is I’m communicating to others.

What’s the most challenging part of your job?

Interestingly enough, I have an advantage not being a software engineer in looking at our products with fresh ‘non-technical’ eyes and that helps when it comes to communicating the product. However, in the same vein it means I have a steep learning curve in understanding the tech itself!

Which of the Mono values resonates with you most?

One of our values at Mono is to ‘over-communicate’, Aristotle said it best ‘Tell them what you are going to tell them, tell them, then tell them what you told them.’ I live by this as a Product Marketer, businesses and developers need to clearly understand how Mono will make their lives easier in order to make the lives of their users even easier.

Favourite song at the moment?

Wizkid ft Burna Boy — Ginger 🎵

And there you have it, hopefully you got to know her a bit better. Next week, we’ll be having a conversation with our Head of Product Design who is an ex-Paystack. Make sure to follow us on our socials to learn more about him.

If you’re an internet business in Africa looking to make your customer onboarding smoother or build new experience using their financial data, please sign up for an account here to get started with Mono

--

--