Goodbye to Bluey’s Pyjamas

Childhood memories and bonds last a lifetime

John
Monochromatic
Published in
2 min readJul 5, 2024

--

A Bluey-themed pajama set with a navy blue long-sleeved top featuring a large image of Bluey and light blue pajama bottoms with multiple smaller Bluey images, laid out on a dark carpet.
My daughter’s Bluey pajamas.

I remember that day. My daughter was in love with those Bluey pajamas. She was so excited that her mother decided to buy one for herself as well, to match her daughter’s. There was only one small problem: the pajamas only came in a size that wouldn’t last long. But that didn’t matter to my daughter, and we decided to buy them. Unfortunately, there wasn’t an even smaller size for her younger brother.

Time, as always, doing its job with absurd discipline, passed faster than I thought. Little by little, those Bluey pajamas started to deteriorate and became tight on my daughter’s body. You could see how the pants were quite worn at the knees, which made me very happy because it meant the many moments my daughter had played.

With the start of winter in Australia, I told my daughter it was time to change them. She, like any girl her age, got excited about the idea of wearing new pajamas. The new pajamas suited her new and evolving personality better: an intense pink color with a unicorn embroidery surrounded by hearts. Obviously, chosen by herself.

At night, the excitement of wearing her new unicorn pajamas was palpable. She, along with her little brother, who had also gotten new pajamas but with a wild and cute dinosaur, started competing to see who…

--

--

John
Monochromatic

I am not just a coffee-lover; I am also an engineer, a loving husband, a dedicated father, a passionate book lover, and everything in between.