Don’t Get Caught Up in the Details of Your Partner’s Other Relationships (Like I Did)

It’s a violation of consent, and in the end, it won’t help you

Sarah Stroh
Monogamish

--

Photo of author by Austin Fassino

The day after his second date with Kathryn, my partner Flo called me on the phone and informed me they’d had sex.

And for the next 24 hours while walking to the grocery store, while cooking dinner, as I lay in bed before falling asleep, I fantasized about what it must have been like.

The two of them in his bed, his hands up her shirt, him pulling down her underwear.

I imagined it pretty similarly to the way he and I would make love sometimes, at least before we started exploring more kinks. And these fantasies sparked a strange mix of arousal, jealousy, and fear.

At the same time, I knew my musings could be totally off. What I imagined was likely far from the reality. Their sex could have been outrageously different from all of the sex that we had.

I wanted to put the mystery to bed. And I thought maybe if I could just get a better picture of what had actually happened, I would feel more at peace with the whole situation.

So when Flo came to my house two days later, I asked him everything I was dying to know. And when I say everything, I mean…

--

--

Sarah Stroh
Monogamish

For a freer, sexier, less lonely world. IG: monogamish_me. Coaching, free weekly email and more - > https://linktr.ee/monogamish_me