DanQ: State of the Community

Monolith
Monolith
Published in
3 min readAug 22, 2018

It’s been 4 months since I joined Token as Community Manager. It’s been an amazing experience so far, I’ve really enjoyed getting to know you all. I thought that now would be the perfect time to give you a quick recap of where we are at today and what my plans are for the future. Please let me know what you think and if you have any suggestions in the comments!

Snapshot of the Token Community

Since joining I’ve worked hard to improve our communications between you and the company which has had a positive impact in my eyes. There’s still room to be even better on this front but I definitely believe that we are heading in the right direction!

The heart of the Token community is in the Discord server, most days there is a flowing conversation. We have a team of Moderators that are all over the globe and this helps the conversation going knowing that there is always someone around to help. We are always happy to see new members stop by the Discord server. Join here!

My Plans

I want to do more work to define how we as the Token community behave towards each other, and what you (the community) can expect from us as a company. My first step is creating a ‘Community Manifesto’ which will outline the community values and what we expect of them/each other. I will also be revisiting the Trello Public Roadmap so the community have a little more info to respond to. I am managing a changelog for the app that I’ll be posting on the Community Forum. I am also working on building an archive of non-time sensitive materials that can be used across all platforms.

Discord is an amazing platform to have — so good we are going to make it official! I have made some updates to the server recently and will continue to as and when things come up.

So far we have added a channel for people to share photos and stories of their pets, I have streamlined the other channels to avoid unnecessary channel clutter and added revised descriptions to all channels, I have made some role adjustments, and will start to implement a new role in the coming weeks.

I’d like Reddit to have more organic conversation, I will continue to post articles, Staff Q&A’s and Newsletters on Reddit, but I feel like it works best when it is a community board that the TokenTeam can comment, answer questions and help the conversation grow, without interfering or controlling the posts.

The Community Forum will be integrated into the TokenApp when we go live so I need to work on migrating users across to it. The forum contains lots of information provided by the TokenTeam, but will also be used for a blog, general forum board and all the TokenApp changelogs will be posted here.

I see my role as also being important to both Marketing and Product. I’ll be continuing to bug the Product and Engineer teams with questions, providing written progress (changelogs) and getting them to interact with the community from time to time.

My ultimate goal is to have one defined community at the heart of Token. We have Discord users, Reddit users, and the Mailing List subscribers, let’s knock down these walls and come together as one ultimate Token community! Can’t wait to hear what you think!

Follow us on all of our platforms!

Twitter

Reddit

YouTube

Community Forum

--

--

Monolith
Monolith

Monolith is the world’s first DeFi wallet and accompanying Visa debit card made for spending crypto assets anywhere.