Poké Bowl & Mint Kombucha

my lunch time adventure

Monica Hsu
Mon's Menu
3 min readJul 31, 2018

--

When I first started working, I swore to myself that I would never eat lunch in front of my computer.

I’ve definitely broken that promise many times, but today I made it out to the Ferry Building for a much needed “me time lunch date”.

The Ferry Building is one of my favorite places to be in San Francisco. It’s a historic landmark housing a variety of my favorite merchants such as Blue Bottle, Humphrey Slocombe and Gott’s Roadside. I’ll write up a post later about where to eat when you visit the building!

I used to make hour long trips to visit the Ferry Building, but now I am a 5 minute walk away from this beauty…

View of the Bay Bridge from the Ferry Building

Today, I came for lunch. I gravitated towards a stall called Farm Fresh To You & found a poké bowl + mint kombucha. I grabbed a pair of chopsticks & claimed a bright red metal chair and cafe table set to enjoy lunch outside.

Yes, my poké was $10.99. At least it was cheaper than most salads in FiDi.

As I dove into my poké bowl, I began to overhear the conversation between the two folks sitting a few feet away from me.

“Sometimes they talk behind Ben’s back, but I’m not like that. I’m like the kind of person who will confront and get things out of the way,” the twenty something woman with brown hair said.

Friend drama? I listened in more…

“But you seem like the type of guy who’s super open and I think you’re going to be great for the job and as my boss. Hog Island is a great company and I think you’re going to do really well.”

Ahhh, I had found myself in the middle of an interview/meeting for Hog Island Oyster Co. How freakin’ cool! I’d always wanted to know more about the restaurant industry and what a career within it is like. Listening in made me feel like I was a part of it for a few minutes.

After devouring my poké & half my kombucha, I headed back into the Ferry Building in hopes of smashing that sweet craving I have almost after every meal (even breakfast).

I saw La Cocina’s stall and had to stop and look. I learned about La Cocina while researching for one of my environmental writing papers in college and absolutely loved their mission. They are a food incubator dedicated to helping food entrepreneurs (particularly women) start and sustain their own businesses. Fireeeee!

I bought an alfajores, which is a cookie sandwich made with two delicate butter cookies with a thick dulce de leche. SO DECADENT! And it was made by a woman who graduated from La Cocina’s program. Go girl.

I didn’t have the “extra” in me to actually take out the cookie for this photo. Not today, Insta. Not today…

Anyways, that was my lunch break. It was MUCH more eventful than I thought it would be! What cool things happened to you today? Did you overhear or see anything interesting? I’d like to know!

Xo,

Mon

--

--

Monica Hsu
Mon's Menu

Monica is a yoga instructor and coffee lover living in Santa Monica, CA. Her goal is to help you re-discover the joy of eating the food you love.