Tofu Tacos & French Fries

how i felt after going vegetarian for one week

Monica Hsu
Mon's Menu
3 min readAug 12, 2018

--

Eating tofu tacos at Outside Lands 2018 !

A few weeks ago, I went vegetarian. I did not call myself a vegetarian, but I did adopt the lifestyle for about one week. Here’s what happened:

  1. I gained 3 pounds
  2. I had extremely low energy by the fourth day
  3. I discovered a really delicious vegan restaurant

To speak to the first two points: this was not fun. The hard part of eating vegetarian was really not the food part of it, but the body part of it. I can eat vegetarian food alllll day. There are so many options, and they can be really delicious! However, my body was put into shock after a few days of not eating any meat or fish. I felt slower, and my body did not feel fully nourished without the meaty protein that it usually got. Therefore, I lost energy and my body started to put on a few pounds for protection.

If I continued this diet for a bit longer, and really dedicated some time and effort into developing a diet that would meet all my nutritional needs, I would have been fine. But I didn’t have a strong enough reason to completely cut meat out of my life, so I decided that I would eat mainly vegetarian, but not cut it out completely. A good realization, it was!!

Now, for some of the amazing vegetarian eats I had during my one week of vegetarianism —

1. Vegan Burger with lots of friiiiies

From Gott’s Roadside inside the Ferry Building.

2. English Muffin with Almond Butter & Bananas

With a side of fruit and the Word.

3. Red Wine Glazed Tempeh with Potatoes

On a date in Berkeley at vegan restaurant called Millenium. Would highly recommend if you’re looking to explore a higher-end vegan experience.

4. Cupcakes & Champagne

Because I go to the best yoga studio ever. Happy 1st birthday, Vita!

Going veg was really cool. Have you tried adopting a particular diet before? Paleo? Whole 30? What was your experience like?

At the end of it all, remember that food is just food. It is meant to nourish our bodies, minds, and souls. If you ever feel like food thoughts are stealing your freedom, step into a place of gratitude. That will surely be one good way to regain your freedom.

Xo,

Mon

--

--

Monica Hsu
Mon's Menu

Monica is a yoga instructor and coffee lover living in Santa Monica, CA. Her goal is to help you re-discover the joy of eating the food you love.