A letter from a very wise friend

By Angel Oubenumpu Guitcha

Akua ntiwaa Anti
Monster Alley
2 min readSep 18, 2022

--

https://blog.ted.com/great-moments-in-letter-writing/amp/

Dear Oube,
I hope this letter finds you in good health and great spirits. In a few months, you’re finally going to meet me. Your gum will begin to swell, and you will have unbearable jaw pain but know that it is worthwhile because I’m a striking gentleman that will ease you from your 240-kilowatt smile into a 24000-kilowatt smile. Your smile is already amazing, but I’ll make it better. Hopefully, this advice makes your life better too.
I know you look into the mirror every single day and pick yourself apart. I know you hate your knocked knees and your almost vampire-looking canines. Each time you look at your reflection, you fantasize about your non-existent dimple and you pop every pimple that tries to jeopardize all the time you invested in maintaining flawless skin. You don’t like how pointed your ears are. You think your forehead is way too large. And no, I won’t dispute the fact that your forehead is larger than average or that your ears are quite pointy. What I would say is that your face doesn’t have to conform to the golden ratio before you can be considered beautiful. Believe me, there’s no "perfect face". The perfection you’re striving for doesn’t exist naturally. Embrace your insecurities and wear them like you would a 24-karat golden crown.
And I have one thing to say to you. Listen for the birds. Birds chirp everywhere in the world. But when you’re wrapped up with your inner drama, you won’t hear them. When you’re calm and present, you will. In your pursuit of a life of inner stillness, listen to the birds. They will let you know when you’re on track.
One last thing. Ignore most advice. If you ask for advice, most people tell you what they would do. But you aren’t them. Learn to trust yourself. And check your thinking with the rare people who will take the time to step into your shoes.
I hope you have fun living these out. Live your extra life! Be bold and have a blast!

Ps: On that date with John or whoever, please pick the green dress. It makes your eyes sparkle.

The friend you haven’t met,
 Wisdom tooth
.

--

--

Akua ntiwaa Anti
Monster Alley

so I basically love reading. And I read about anything I can find. I also do a bit of free style writing and I'm looking forward to enjoying my time on medium