A New Life

Mridul Vijay
Monster Alley
Published in
2 min readFeb 1, 2023

My mum died when I was three, I was barely old enough to remember her. My dad took care of me all my life. When my dad died three months ago, I was twelve. My dad gave me all his savings so that I could live for a few months in the house we lived together in. The reason my dad gave me his life savings was because most of my relatives did not like my dad and they couldn’t be bothered to have another child to take care of and feed.

It has been three months since my dad died. I eat bread for every meal of the day. Sometimes, I eat it with margarine or jam, but it is barely enough to feed me. Sometimes I have to go to bed hungry because the supermarket increased the price of bread. Three months after my father’s death and I am living with his life savings. I had nearly reached the end of the money my father had given me, and I did not know what I would do to keep living the lifestyle I have been living. I may need to get a job, but I was not qualified to do anything. A pang of hunger erupted throughout my body, and I realized it was time for dinner. As I started walking to the door, the letter flap in my home opened and a letter come through. All the letters that had come in the past three months were bills and condolence letters.

When I opened the letter, I expected a bill or a condolence letter but my expectations were shattered into thousands of pieces like a stone thrown at a glass window when I opened the letter. The letter was sent by my Aunt Florence. She invited me to live with her in the country and in the letter was a single train ticket. Tears started to stream down my face like a waterfall at the prospect of living a peaceful and educated life. I rubbed my eyes dry and started to pack my suitcase.

I sat on the floor of the train platform, using my suitcase as a seat. I opened my umbrella and positioned it above my head to block the oncoming rain. I heard the approaching train whistle, and I got up in response. As I was getting on the train, I started to think about all the new and exciting memories that I will make with my Aunt Florence and my new life.

--

--

Mridul Vijay
Monster Alley

Hi! My name is Mridul Vijay. A 13 year old boy who likes writing stories. I publish my short stories on my blog every Thursday.