About Me — Rachael Bao

A writer with a ruinous working habit

Rachael Bao
Monster Alley
1 min readAug 14, 2022

--

created by me with Canva

I’m a middle-aged person who neither hates the kids nor resents my oldness. I speak two other languages well enough to speak them all day, buy stuff, accidentally eavesdrop and argue.

To be a good writer, though, is next-level fluency that can compellingly broadcast mood, connotation and subtlety of humor. I’m a great writer in English.

Word letting: why I write

I’m writing as therapy. I’d love to write full-time, against all odds. I’m managing by expectations by accepting that, if nothing else, I’m doing my word-letting. I’m unleashing the excess of thought that rolls around in my head all day. Even without pay, I’ve noticed the improvements in my life from regularly writing.

My Medium articles are going to stay free for now. Sidebars to my articles will be published elsewhere, with a paywall.

--

--

Rachael Bao
Monster Alley

With 2 A’s. She/her. Oft autocorrected, but great SEO! Married for spellability, remarried for Pizza. I miss sewing with Dad and watching Star Trek with Mom.