An Introduction to Me

Or, please allow me to introduce myself.

Sam W.
Monster Alley

--

Making jewelry in the time of Covid. Picture is mine.

Oh boy, is it that time? Have I finally been pushed into writing one of these, the dreaded ‘about me’? It would seem so. Where on Earth do I begin.

I suppose I’ll start with my name. No, it isn’t a pen name- I am actually a Sam. A Canadian Sam no less. And to one American gentleman I am the oft-mentioned but rarely-believed-in Canadian girlfriend. We do exist sometimes, though proof is often required by friends. Very rare mythological creatures.

I live in the Maritimes, close enough to the sea to know it’s there but not quite close enough to smell it. I grew up right on the edge of the water though, and I miss the scent of salt and the screaming cries of gulls terribly. At least I say I do, but the last time I was in a city with gulls they woke me up at 5 AM and I haven’t quite forgiven them.

I own and operate one business as a jeweler, though it’s less of a business and more just me hammering metal until it does what I want and then selling the thing I made to somebody who likes shiny things. The piece I’m wearing in the picture is mine, something I made as part of my private collection. I love working with natural shapes like those little mushroom spores.

I’m also partnered in another business. I write content for, and edit the webpage…

--

--

Sam W.
Monster Alley

9x Top Writer. Opinion pieces about human rights and activism. Enjoying my work? I also host a weekly newsletter and biweekly podcast at World-Weary.com.