THIS HAPPENED TO ME| CHILDHOOD

A Young Boy Helping an Elderly Grouch in Need

A time when I helped someone when it seemed risky to do so

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Monster Alley

--

Run and hide when you see this old lady stare you down. To represent the grumpy old lady.
This stare would make any kid run and hide. Photo by Jonas Kakaroto on Unsplash

When I was a kid, there was a neighbor I just couldn’t figure out. She always looked grumpy. She was an older woman who lived alone and never wanted other people to be around her or even approach her property. Sometimes, I’d accidentally encroach on her property as I was walking home and she’d yell so loud that I’d run, scream, and cry.

One day, when I was in my apartment, I saw some unfamiliar kids over near her lawn. They might have lived in the neighborhood but I couldn’t figure that out. They were a bit older than me as I was still under the age of 10 at the time.

I wasn’t sure what was going on and I didn’t want to get involved but they looked like they were about to get into trouble over there. They were on their bikes and they appeared to be holding something. I couldn’t tell what it was from where I was looking but I figured I was going to wait to see if they’d get yelled at.

That old woman seemed to be able to handle herself. She came outside and started yelling at the kids. They seemed unfazed and ready to pounce on her. Then I saw what was in their hands. They had a carton of eggs each. They looked like they were either going to egg her house or egg her, whatever was easier.

Now I knew at that moment, I had to do something. I ran outside and started yelling at the top of my lungs. I couldn’t let that poor woman get barraged by a group of neighborhood kids. The fact that I didn’t know the kids made this both scarier and easier. I already didn’t care about my status at school if they just happened to be older kids at the same school. I just got out there and yelled, “Stop!!” at the top of my lungs.

It didn’t immediately stop them as they started tossing the eggs in the old lady’s direction. Some of them missed but some of them hit her directly. I saw her starting to cry and by the time I got there, I got bigger and actually much scarier than I’d ever presented myself before. Most of the time, I was a pretty meek, sheltered, and quiet kid. I threatened that I’d hurt them with the help of my friends if they didn’t leave.

I also said that the police had already been called. I hadn’t actually called the police but it scared them enough to where they started riding off as fast as they could. The old woman was still crying and holding her face as they rode off and I stood there near her on the lawn. She started apologizing to me as she was thanking me as well.

“You don’t have to be sorry. Neighbors help each other. I couldn’t watch as those kids were teaming up against you.”

“You’re a good kid. I don’t ever see you out here making trouble. I’m sorry I nitpick when you come onto my property. You’re welcome over here whenever you’d like.” The next day she made me a pie and some cookies. She ended up being a good friend of the family for many years after that up until she died almost a decade later.

She still had her grouchy moments throughout but we had found out she had been widowed for many years and was suffering greatly living alone. That was one of the highlights and best moments in her late life when one of the neighborhood kids helped to defend her.

I can’t seem to remember her name anymore but I remember her by her demeanor and her desperation in that one scary moment. I’m so thankful that I stepped in and helped her. It helped me realize that I wasn’t a complete wimp and nerd like most of my classmates thought I was.

I never told them this story but if I were a different kid, I might’ve bragged about it up and down the halls. I just went back to living my normal, sheltered, and introverted life after that. But I was grateful for the relationship I forged that day by doing the right thing.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Monster Alley

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.