Thoughts on Paid Writing Contests, Competition, and Cash Prizes

Adjust your mindset and figure out why you’re competing in the first place

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Monster Alley
4 min read5 days ago

--

A drawer full of notebooks with many words to inspire you to write for fun and even compete for money if you want to.
You have a story that is just looking to get exposure. Sometimes you’re paying to put it out there and seek validation. Photo by Julia Joppien on Unsplash

I was talking with one of my writing friends today. We were talking about writing contests, specifically a particular writing contest that you pay to enter. She feels discouraged by them especially when she has to shell out money to enter them and doesn’t end up winning or placing.

It’s caused her not to enter them as often as much anymore. I think they charge the entry fee so that not just any old “writer” puts something forward that wouldn’t even win an elementary school writing contest. This particular writer is very talented and deserves to win contests, so it makes sense why she would enter a contest like that.

I think it’s a shame if she feels like there’s something that she is proud of writing and doesn’t want to enter it. I let her know that I think it’s kind of ridiculous to go into something like that and expect to win or place.

If it loses, it’s the fact that you participated in the first place and you put your best foot forward. I thought about this more and figured it had to do something more with the aspect of money having to be paid into it rather than not winning any money.

Some contests don't require you to pay an entry fee. I’d certainly feel more comfortable entering those myself. But some people do pay for them. Typically a nominal fee of $5 or something like that. I get wanting to win when you have to put your own money in but I still feel like you should feel comfortable parting with that in that case if you feel strongly about your writing.

Even if you don’t put your best foot forward and still enter, that’s still something to hang your hat on. If I’m entering a humor competition, sure, I’d want to put something hilarious in that’d have a chance to win. At the same time, though, I think finding something genuine and silly to send in, even if it’s not my strongest work, is still valid.

I’ve recently rediscovered writing for the love of it and writing just to get my ideas out there. If I were to enter a contest, I’d expect that the best piece of writing would win. If that piece is mine, that’s wonderful. If the judges think that it’s a different piece, that’s fine with me too.

I’m surrounded by a ton of brilliant writers. I don’t expect to beat any of them in one given instance, especially if we’re all investing money into it to win more. If I do, that’s a wonderful surprise but if I don’t, it’s just another day.

I get that many people write to earn a living. It’s hard out there these days to earn from writing unless you know the right people. These contests offer a quicker way to earn a lump sum cash prize for your hard work. I would love to be someone who wins writing contests frequently.

I know that I’m not and maybe my mindset is rooted in that. This particular writer friend that I talked to works on her craft daily but also writes to earn something for her efforts.

I feel like her side is completely valid as well. It’s okay to not compete for a bit in these competitions, especially when you feel like you’re spinning your wheels and you have to pay every time you enter.

I understand in that regard being frustrated with constantly shelling out money and seeing no validation. If she was entering more free competitions with cash prizes, then that’s probably a better route for her creative outlet in general because even if she weren’t to place, she would still get to hold on to her money afterward.

She seemed to agree that for someone to subject themselves to this constantly, the attitude to adopt is just to have fun with no expectations. I think that should be a more universal mindset going into it. I’m not saying that you should just give up and constantly send in shit if that’s what you’re looking to do.

I just think it’s trivial to constantly keep your mind in competition mode 24/7 expecting or at least geared toward winning every time. I know that’s not what she argued but I think many people take that attitude in every contest they participate in. I’ve been a judge in contests. I’ve seen this attitude directly.

Lastly, the important thing to me at the end of the day is being genuine and writing to the best of your ability. If someone recognizes that in a contest or not, that should make you feel good. It shouldn’t be the expectation. I’m constantly working on my craft as well but at the same time, I just feel like things that are on my mind are sometimes worth getting out there.

After all, the stakes I’ve set for myself aren’t as high as some. I am only competing with myself at the end of the day. That is the most rewarding prize I can think of.

--

--

The Sturg (Gerald Sturgill)
Monster Alley

Gay, disabled in an RV, Cali-NY-PA, Boost Nominator. New Writers Welcome, The Taoist Online, Badform. Owner of International Indie Collective pubs.