The Art of Getting Done

Or not, as the case may be. Sigh.

E.A. Colquitt
Monster Café

--

Image by the author

In my previous Café post, I mentioned how I’m going through a creative celebration. Something finally feels as though it’s settling — but how did I get to this point?

I’ve had to centre myself. For me, that means going back to basics, starting again… this time, writing small.

But first, what was actually wrong?

Before

When I started writing for Monster Alley (and Café), my main creative project, my first novel, was forming off-Medium:

[It] follows a modern-day ghost who sets out to solve his own murder, but the next [idea] involves slightly gothic 19th-century family intrigue, all centred on a manor house.

I’ve always had good responses to these ideas (most recently, from Normal Earthling). Publicly, however, I was being more optimistic about that ghost novel than I was actually feeling. On the inside, I was growing listless.

Remember what I said in my previous post, about how sometimes you need to wrestle with creativity? Well, this was all wrestling. It simply wasn’t working.

The trouble is, I didn’t know this at first. And when I did, I didn’t want to face the facts.

--

--