I’ll be back!

Christoph Jirik
Monster Culture
Published in
2 min readJun 19, 2018

In autumn 2017 I searched for an internship as this was a compulsory part of my studies in biomedical engineering. After some research I landed on the mySugr website and clicked through their job offerings. Within no time I was sure that I wanted to do my internship at mySugr and nowhere else! After the application process and some interviews I was proud and excited to announce that I would start my adventure at mySugr in January 2018.

My first day at mySugr I was quite nervous but there was no reason to be. Everyone gave me a nice warm welcome and I also got to discover my main task for the duration of my internship: GDPR! (short for “General Data Protection Regulation” — wanna learn more? I actually wrote a blogpost about it!). Well, we had our ups and downs in the GDPR team but all together it was a very challenging task with important lessons learned.

Besides investigating different data flows and assessing specific data privacy risks for GDPR compliance, I got insights into the regulatory side at mySugr, represented the company at a job fair at my university, and presented all the important facts about GDPR and data protection to the whole company. So as you can see, this internship was the complete opposite of the notorious “please bring me a coffee and a sausage roll” internship. Basically, I never felt like an intern during my 5 month stay.

The time flew by and I feel some nostalgia about writing this blog post on my last day. But as Arnold would say it: I’ll be back! The end of my internship also comes hand in hand with my return to mySugr after the summer as I am getting the opportunity to work there during my master’s degree from October onwards. Getting my own monster and seeing the new office are more than enough motivation to come back.

--

--