Seaborn Larson, Cops and Courts Reporter

Finding the angle that’s interesting as well as important

Montana Journalism Review
Montana Journalism Review
2 min readMay 14, 2017

--

Interview by Kip Vetos

Q: Why did you become a journalist?

A: I really kind of tripped, or fell, into the J-School during college, after I realized business wasn’t what I wanted to do. I was inspired by the professors that had so much experience to share, and the other students, who were doing big things and going to big places. I realized it was a great chance to get into a career where you’re a student for life, and journalism is just one of those things that can take you to cool places and meet really cool people. Not long into the J-School I knew I was in the right spot.

Seaborn Larson, cops and courts reporter at the Great Falls Tribune.

Q: What did you do to get people to read and or view your work?

A: I think you’ve really got to find stories that have an angle that hasn’t been covered before. Often times, people are kind of chasing the ball around like it’s elementary school soccer or something, but I think there is always an angle or a storyline that hasn’t been covered that is interesting to the readers. I think finding those stories is how you’re going to draw readers to your work.

Q: What’s the one thing you would want to tell your readers about how local journalism works?

A: I think readers should know that we’re not all sitting around an editorial meeting talking about how to screw over community members, or how to lie, or how to gather the most clicks. We’re really looking to find the stories that we think are important to them. While they might not always agree with the information that’s true and that’s covered in the story, I just hope the stories give them a better chance at civil engagement.

--

--

Montana Journalism Review
Montana Journalism Review

A magazine that reports on journalism, media and communication in the western United States. Published by the University of Montana School of Journalism.