Meet Montrose — Marek Krzynowek

Christopher Martin
Montrose Software Blog

--

Name? Marek Krzynowek

Position? Senior Software Developer/ Project Leader

Favourite Quote? “Everything is possible, some things are just very unlikely” — Michal Janeczek

What do you do at Montrose? I’m working on mobile and web projects mostly, as well as overseeing a few inhouse endeavours, like HR and data security. I also drink a lot of coffee, and try very hard to stay away from the cake and sweets :)

What superpower do you bring to the team? I’m the funny guy. It is a very important superpower, every office needs the funny guy. I bravely bear this burden for this small collection of people.

What gets you out of bed and into the office each morning? I like solving problems and building things in code. I enjoy smoothing out and optimizing processes. If I can do that every day at Montrose, I’m happy. It might be weird, but my favourite task is improving existing solutions, instead of building from scratch.

What direction did you take to get here? I took a long way round. I studied in Edinburgh and got my first job as a programmer there. After 10 years spent abroad, I decided to move back to Poland, and started interviewing for a position. Montrose had by far the most interesting offer I saw, so I went for it, and many years later I’m still here.

If you had Bill Gates’ money, what would you spend it on? I would buy myself a new bicycle, the one I have is old and I need to fix it a lot. So I would get myself a fancy new bike, so cycling to work would be more fun. I would also install some kind of heating for the entire bike path from my house to the office so I can cycle in winter time. Whatever is left, I would donate to charity for kids.

What is life outside of Montrose like? Mainly kids and family life takes the most of my time after I leave work. There is however this period of time when work is done, and the kids are asleep, which leaves me with nothing to do. I’ve been searching for a true hobby to occupy this time for years, which currently, this hobby is sleep.

--

--