Food Photography: Action Shots and Human Connection

Alexandra Onosa is an enthusiast photographer and storyteller, a creator, a passionate gardener, a curious foodie and a baker. The 32 years old Food Photographer from Romania talked to Mooi about her art, her journey and her projects.

Marie Jund
MOOI — Inspiring women
5 min readMar 11, 2021

--

Alexandra Onosa, Portrait

My favorite moment of the day is definitely the one when the creativity takes control over me and starts unfolding itself” Alexandra ponders when talking about her food photography passion.

There is such a liberating force within the creative process, it has healing power, and I am sure I am not the only one feeling this way. It’s that moment when I don’t need to fit certain standards. When I can express my feelings in unique ways, maybe more clearly than with words, and I can bring my ideas to life. It’s that moment when I can simply be” she explains humbly.

Alexandra Onosa is a 32 years old Food Photographer from Romania, living in Germany. Her photographic subjects are always food-related. She loves photographing raw ingredients, baked wonders and the process of different dishes in the making.

I have a deep love for action shots that imply using the human element. Hands are among my favorite subjects too, hands tell good stories most of the time” she smiles broadly.

Cooking as the link to a family back home

It all started, like so many stories, when Alexandra was a kid. Although she was rather a tomboy, interested in handicraft and arts, cooking has always been a key element in her life.

Even though I rebelled against learning it, secretly I always wanted to give it a try on my own, without any kind of guidance”, she reminisces. She cooked for the very first time at the age of 16 and was baking at 21.

It was curiosity that pushed her forward. And those close to her always came back for more. “I truly believe that “Sharing is caring”.

I discovered the whole process of cooking to be more of a therapy than an existential need, and it kept memories about certain members of my family alive”

In 2010, after graduating from University in Journalism, Alexandra left Romania and settled in London. That’s when she realized that food was actually some sort of “invisible rope” that kept her connected to her family and friends.

I discovered the whole process of cooking to be rather calm and pleasant, more of a therapy than an existential need, and funny enough it kept memories about certain members of my family alive”, she explains simply.

As for her interest in photography, it started during high school, when she was constantly playing with her father’s camera. Her focus was then on nature and people. And while she studied the basics in university, and was told she had an eye for it, she did not think of it in a serious way.

The whole photography journey truly started in 2018, after she moved to Germany (“I confess, it was for love” Alexandra smiles). She had a garden there and was able to grow her own food.

That “represented a very important step in this new direction in which I was heading and it gave me that much-needed push and courage to start learning photography because I had finally discovered my favorite subject to capture”.

Alexandra Onosa, making gnocchi (Instagram feed)

A career in photography: a lot of work and boldness

The actual start of a career was scary. “I did not feel ready to transform this passion into something bigger, but things started to unfold almost on their own and I just let them happen.

Alexandra knew she wanted to pursue a career in this direction the moment she realized that photography made her feel in her own element. “It gives me the freedom to express myself in ways I ́ve never imagined I was capable of”.

While she hopes to earn her living by doing only this in the future, for now, Alexandra still considers her photography as a side hustle rather than a job.

One needs to constantly learn and acquire new skills, to constantly create and be unique. It is not impossible, but it requires a lot of energy, a lot of time”.

Nowadays, “pursuing a career in photography feels almost like a race” she reflects. Because the technology is advancing so fast, cameras are incredibly affordable. Everything is just one click away. There’s a lot of online platforms to showcase photographer’s work.

One needs to constantly learn and acquire new skills, to constantly create and be unique. Standing out from the crowd makes things even harder because there are so many talented photographers out there, especially in food photography, giving their best every single day. It is not impossible, but it requires a lot of energy, a lot of time, a lot of work and boldness”.

The organization of inspiration

Alexandra jungles a heavy schedule, with a normal day job, going to school, learning German. Lately, she only photographs at night, because that’s the only slot left.

I like that it allows me to tell a different story every time, that it exercises my mind, forcing me to think outside the box and let ́s me put simple subjects in a totally different light”.

Depending on her subjects, a typical day can soon become an atypical day. “If I am super excited about the image I want to bring to life sometimes I prepare my scenes a day before and if the results are pleasing I am improvising and creating different sceneries from the one that I already have”.

Other times, she doesn’t plan at all, she creates her setting having no image in mind, just on the spot. Those are usually the days she loves the most.

“Being spontaneous and hyperactive and putting pressure on myself by following a schedule precisely allows me to create more effectively. I am very organized, even if I create only one image or a number of different ones after the shooting, all the props need to go back to their places. Starting fresh every time helps me with the creative process” she details. A shooting can take an hour or several, depending on its complexity.

Alexandra has a deep love for her side hustle. She loves what it brings her, like the freedom to express herself.

I like that it allows me to tell a different story every time, that it exercises my mind, forcing me to think outside the box and let ́s me put simple subjects in a totally different light”.

The future is made of tiny steps

When asked about the future, Alexandra is relaxed and mindful. “Given the current situation of the world, I’ve decided on making more reachable and achievable plans, like expanding the garden, trying more varieties of vegetables, learning videography is as well on the list. Tiny steps, taken one at a time” she advocates.

As for others on the same path, she advises them to be brave and to challenge themselves.

Nothing is impossible and when one has the will, every dream can be turned into reality. Take things slowly and enjoy the process rather than rushing it, everything happens for a reason, at exactly the right time and all one needs to do is to be present and enjoy the ride”.

--

--

Marie Jund
MOOI — Inspiring women

Freelance journalist, Digital Content Creator. I write about travels, careers, everyday joys. Founder & Editor of MOOI https://medium.com/mooi-women-publication