What It’s Like to Be a Food Blogger

Balancing teaching studies and food blogging as her passion, Manrich Kaur is taking us behind the scenes.

Marie Jund
MOOI — Inspiring women
3 min readSep 17, 2020

--

Her Khaale Jee Bharke Instagram feed will make you drool on your phone. Pizzas, amazing looking momos, Bharwa Gol Gappe, fluffy naan, burgers, mac and cheese fries, or Choco Chip Waffle with Vanilla Icecream, it’s absolutely impossible to get through the pictures without one or another immediate craving.

For me, food is not just food. It’s an emotion

Since childhood, I was a big foodie and always had a close relationship with food. I love to explore new dishes and food joints around me. For me, food is not just food but an emotion”, she explains. Hence her page name “Khaale Jee Bharke”, which means “eat with a full heart”.

The birth of Khaale Jee Bharke

The food Instagram feed all started at graduation when one of her friends suggested that she should start a page where she could truly pursue her hobby. “I love taking pictures of food, trying to capture their essence, snap it in their natural habitat” she explains. She then decided to show the world what she loved about it all, and that’s how the page was created. “By creating this page, I’m following my passion”, and every day is exciting, full of possibilities.

But blogging about amazing food is not all burgers and ice creams. It’s an ongoing struggle. “You don’t grow followers and visibility overnight. It’s actually a lot of hard work, and untold stories behind every success” she confesses. Today, she’s happy with what she has already accomplished, and she feels grateful towards the people who are following her, “appreciating my work every day”.

Her passion for food blogging had to go hand in hand with discipline and learned competencies. Creating content is not just a new internet phrase thrown out there. “It requires hard work, and consistency, to create different content on a daily basis for the audience”. She’s balancing her food blogging career while pursuing her Bachelor of Education from IP University. “Time management plays a pivotal task here. I manage by giving some time to my blog, family as well as studies throughout the day.

Success is never in the numbers

When asked about success, Manrich Kaur doesn’t think she’s there yet. “I am working hard every day by overcoming all the hurdles, learning a lot of lessons and taking actions according to my past experiences which would eventually help me somewhere on my way to success”.

But with more than 10.000 followers and counting, she’s off to a very good start. All the more so than last year, she almost quitted. “It was just a lot, personal problems, loads of studies, I felt like I didn’t have the time. But then, I realized, it’s not about time, it’s about priorities”. She rebooted her page and hit the 10k mark.

But much more than social media success or followers growth, Manrich Kaur aims first of all for a simple life. “For me, success is 3-time meals on your plate, a house to live in, and a lovely family by your side. It is not merely how well you earn or how much fame you have, it is how much people around you are loving and respectful. If you love what you are doing, you will be successful”.

--

--

Marie Jund
MOOI — Inspiring women

Freelance journalist, Digital Content Creator. I write about travels, careers, everyday joys. Founder & Editor of MOOI https://medium.com/mooi-women-publication