How To Tell If You’re in a Great Relationship

Five signs to know if your relationship is beautiful

George Blue Kelly
Moon Light Confessions
4 min readOct 2, 2021

--

Photo by Jon Ly on Unsplash

“C’mon FAT MAN! I’ll cut you from your nuts to your gulliver!”

Mary McConaughey screams as she takes another swing at James, her husband, with a 12-inch kitchen knife. James jumped out of the way but not out of the room.

“C’mon FAT MAN! I’ll cut you WIIIDE open!”

James reached for the ketchup on the kitchen table and began to spray Mary all over, dodging every swing of the knife.

My first thought reading this scene from Matthew McConaughey's book, ‘Greenlight,’ was… “Shit! that’s a messed up marriage.”

But I’ve come to learn that, “one man’s meat is another’s poison.” What I label unhealthy, might be someone’s dream. Like Matthew rightly said in his book, “We know for a fact that what tickles us, bleeds others.”

Later in an interview with Hoda Kotb on TODAY, Matthew McConaughey related his mother's response to him telling the story in his book; “Every one of those you told is true on me and your father, but I wish you would’ve added some more of the times when we're sitting around hugging and having a great time, which was 99% of the time.”

--

--