Hey Birds, I Too Wanna Fly

Poem on the love of birds and the desire to fly

Hritik R
Moon Light Confessions
Sep 26, 2021

--

Photo by Taryn Elliott from Pexels

I see you flying,
With boundless freedom,
And too desire,
To touch the sky...

Oh hell,
I realize,
I can’t fly,
Maybe be transported,
Through a walled machine,
But for me,
Where to reach,
Doesn’t matter,
For the destination’s nowhere,
It’s only to fly,
Deep and high,
To fill myself,
With open sky.

Oh! I grow jealous,
Of your feathers,
As we humans,
Although knowledgeable,
Can’t attach two flappers,
And soar high.

Oh, dumb humanity,
I wanna fly,
Not to blast,
Bombs and missiles,
You are still inferior,
To those birds from the sky,
With all technology,
You can’t make me fly,
And even if,
But not simply, and easily,
Like them,
Two feathers attached,
And one with the boundless sky.

--

--