My Narcotic Charms

You will be back (as I foretold)

Colleen Millsteed
Moon Light Confessions
3 min readJul 21, 2021

--

My Narcotic Charms. You will be back (as I foretold). A poem by Colleen Millsteed.
Photo by Colin Davis on Unsplash

So you have done a bit of experimenting and toked on some grass
Tried the good old acid, some cocaine and even some hashish,
Now you’ve grown tired of all that and looking for more of a bend
A mate comes along and says, “I’ll introduce to my friend Heroin”.

Well little man, think very hard before you come to play with me
It may not be your wisest choice, so let me tell you how it will be,
I promise it won’t take me long to seduce you into being my slave
Don’t laugh honey, I’ve sent men stronger than you to their grave.

I can see you are convinced, you would never become a disgrace
Never be weak enough to get addicted to my poppy seed waste,
With these beliefs you’ll start experimenting with me one afternoon
And find yourself sleeping and dreaming in my arms quite soon.

Before you know it, I’ll be comfortable swimming deep in your veins
Then when you do wake, my cravings will nearly drive you insane,
But it is not too severe as you’ve only been cruising my way
You can still be the responsible adult and stay clean for a day.

--

--

Colleen Millsteed
Moon Light Confessions

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.