Our Glorious Senses

Let’s attempt to mindfully use all of our senses

Colleen Millsteed
Moon Light Confessions
3 min readAug 17, 2021

--

Our Glorious Senses. Let’s attempt to mindfully use all of our senses. A poem written by Colleen Millsteed.
Photo by Ava Sol on Unsplash

The human body is a real miracle
A comment to make you stop to think,
It’s an amazing piece of perfection
Automated and so totally in sync.

We don’t tell our throat to swallow
Nor do we tell our eyes to blink,
We never order our lungs to breathe
Or give instructions to our brain to think.

Our senses are the most glorious part
Without, we’d miss everyday pleasures,
Not only do they highlight the present
But they ignite unique memory treasures.

When I smell a certain talcum powder
I’m transported back to my years as a teen,
A precious gift from my loving soul mate
When I was still his much-adored queen.

When I smell a roast turkey still baking
I’m instantly a young adult once again,
Christmas Day spent with all my family
Eating plum puddings and candy canes.

--

--

Colleen Millsteed
Moon Light Confessions

Top Writer in Poetry. I’m a Finance Manager with a love of both numbers and words.