POEM

When You Can’t Find Tea

You write a poem about it

Kasun Ranasinghe
Moon Light Confessions
2 min readMay 7, 2021

--

Photo by Kira auf der Heide on Unsplash

My heart yearns, my stomach growls and my soul pleads,
For the simple pleasure of a warm cup of tea,
Golden brown with sugar cubes and cream,
Like dewdrops from heaven, my taste buds do dream.

To snuggle and cuddle and babble on with glee,
You were once safe in my hands, keeping my thoughts company,
Together with biscuits, cakes, muffins, or maybe a slice of cheese.
An evening of bliss, sweet kisses on my cheeks.

Oh, where, oh where could my sweet baby be?
I open the cupboards and emptiness I see…
I try, then cry, then lie on my knees,
Can someone please bring me my warm cup of tea….?

These words were inspired by my first-world problem in a third-world country.

Today, horror-struck my heart deeply as I stared dumbfounded at the empty container that housed our tea leaves. Apparently, our cat, Mr. Chip Chip, had dropped the tin off the shelf last night.

I tried to save what I could but it was already too late —the cat had performed his mischievous mission to a T. Now, I can’t help but think of tea.

You never know how much you miss something until it’s gone.

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

--

--