At Wimbledon & in Life —Never give up!

Suraz
Moonlaunch
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2018
Tennis Courts at the beach resort (Photo Credit~Josh Sorensen)

I was a 9 year old in Grade 4 when I first started receiving Tennis lessons at a nearby facility during summer camp.

I had a grand wooden racquet! And I turned up to the class to find most of the kids with shiny aluminium racquets. I was just a kid with a wooden racquet & droopy socks.

I was an introverted skinny kid & shy to the core. I remember that I was the youngest & so had a smaller frame than others. I fumbled with serve. I was slower on court chasing balls. I never reached volleys that others could. The only option I had was hitting the wall for practice as no one lese wanted to practice with me. Needless to say, I didn’t build up the courage to ask for help & got left behind very quickly.

A harsh lesson at a young age. But it took me a long time to start implementing those lessons.

Wimbledon (Photo Credit Amara living ltd)

Ok! So much for my brush with Tennis. Fast Forward to the present.

Wimbledon Championships 2018

7–6 6–7 6–7 6–4 26–24!

One key takeaway from the epic semi-final between Anderson & Isner at the Wimbledon this year: You only stand a chance at life as long as the mind doesn’t give up

Playing 6 hours of gruelling tennis is superhuman. The body would have started telling them to give up soon after the 4 hour mark but the mind sustained them to play 50 games in the 5th set.

Twitter served up Meme’s & Jokes of Nadal & Djokovic turning into skeletons waiting for this match to complete. Yet, this match was a celebration of human spirit, competitiveness & determination to succeed.

Never EVER give up on what you want

I wish I hadn’t given up on my Tennis so easily. It was worth fighting for.

--

--

Suraz
Moonlaunch

When the vision is real enough, even the sun alters its course to make it happen for you | Reach me➡️ https://www.linkedin.com/in/szka