Sitting In The Corner Of My Memory

Lily Low
Moonrise Literary
Published in
Nov 16, 2020

from the confines of my room, to the utter peace that I felt

Nudging forward, younger me whining

My family spoke highly of you

I barely knew anything, nothing

Other than Arthur the aardvark’s fascination with you

My fingers

Ran along your surface

Gently

In the midst of my unfamiliarity

I remembered my teacher

Smacking my fingers with a ruler

Whenever I forgot to cut my nails

A sin — as though they were screeching against rails

Aside from the techniques and examinations

I grew to love

The sound of your notes

The comfort that surrounded me

The avenue I was able to express what I felt

You were able to transport me

From the confines of my room

To the utter peace that I felt

The calm

Reminded me of the pier

I used to kick my feet

Over the waters by the pier

Soaking in the sunshine

Kicking my thoughts into gear

Of everything and anything

That I held dear

As I grew older

Your keys collected dust

As my attention shifted

To excel in my education, a must

Sitting in the corner of my memory

Patiently, like a resounding melody

As I went to explore the unknown

And other first loves, sprouting from seeds I sown

As I got my heart broken

My fair share of failures

Maneuvering between words spoken

And people favoured

Years later I returned

Rosy-cheeked from abroad

Reminiscing, I turned

Playing as if I never left, awed

Hello, we meet again

As my fingers ran across your keys

Not in the eyes of men

Just me

You

And the calm of the vast seas

--

--

Lily Low
Moonrise Literary

“No darkness, no season is eternal.” | Writes about mental health, music, current issues, life, poetry, and faith.