Volume 2: The Culinary Chronicles

Charlotte Stiplosek
Moral Kaleidascope
Published in
3 min readOct 8, 2020

Crépes

Ingredients:

2 ½ cups flour

1 egg

2 tablespoons of sugar

1 tablespoon water

2 tablespoons of milk

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

A pinch of salt

Instructions:

In a medium bowl combine the flour, sugar, and salt. Whisk in the egg,vanilla, and milk. Slowly add the water until all the lumps are gone.

Ladle ¼ cup onto a hot pan and cook each side for 1–2 minutes.

Potato Dumplings

Ingredients:

6–8 small plums

6–8 apricots

2 lbs of potatoes

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1½ cup flour

1 tablespoon of sugar

For topping:

1 tablespoon of cinnamon

1 tablespoon of nutmeg

3 tablespoons sugar

¼ cup breadcrumbs

1 tablespoon butter

Instructions:

Skin and wash potatoes. Boil potatoes in a large pot until cooked. After cooling, use a ricer or mash the potatoes. Add flour and cornstarch and knead until mixture holds shape.

Refrigerate for two hours.

Tear golf-sized balls from the ball dough and flatten in your hand. Wrap the plum in dough until completely coated. Boil a large pot of salted water. When water reaches a boil drop the dough covered fruit in the pot. Wait for the balls to float to the top and remove from the water.

In a large skillet heat butter, breadcrumbs, cinnamon, nutmeg, and sugar. Roll warm dough in heated mixtures. Cool for 5 minutes before serving.

As a female immigrant who escaped Croatia during World War 2, my grandmother taught me resilience. I can fondly recount the summers I lived with her. While she cooked and we ate she shared stories of her struggle against adversity in an overwhelmingly humble manner, almost unaware of the magnitude of struggle she has overcome. I remember gawking at her innate bravery as she shared her story of escaping with my grandfather from an internment camp. After cutting off all her hair to pretend she was male, my grandfather, 3 friends, and my grandmother navigated the mountains of Austria until they reached the ocean. They then commissioned a man to take them across the ocean where they landed and settled in Canada. The rag-tag group landed knowing nobody and with only $5 in my grandfather’s pocket.

My grandmother is not only the bravest person I know, but also prevails to be the kindest and most selfless person. From sacrificing all familiarity for my grandfather to not sitting down at the table until everyone has everything they need, she never puts herself first. I try to emulate this kindness and recognize my value of privilege.

Today, when I make either of the two dishes listed above I remember to face challenges fearlessly and remove emphasis from menial challenges.

--

--