Charlotte Stiplosek
Moral Kaleidascope
Published in
2 min readOct 8, 2020

--

Volume 3: toomanyBALLsintheROOM

Throughout middle school and high school, I spent the majority of my time at my dance studio. Over the years I cultivated a deeply personal relationship with my dance teacher, Barnaly Pande. Outside of dance, we quickly came to learn we shared similar defining experiences. Barnaly mentored and supported me mentally and emotionally both within and outside of the studio.

While I no longer see Barnaly every day, I have carried with me her greatest piece of advice; hard work will never fail. She explained to me, first as a girl, when I was struggling to understand new techniques, that the only thing holding me back was a self-imposed mental barrier. As I tore down my mental walls, my technique slowly ameliorated.

As I grew older, she restated her timeless message and emphasized in order to be happy, life requires work. In healthy relationships with friends and family, it is necessary for both parties to put in the same amount of effort. Within school, hard work typically reaps academic success. Barnaly taught me to not only care about the things I do, but carry them out with a purpose.

I selected these songs because they represent crucial moments within my dance career wherein I felt particularly grateful for her advice.

--

--