Editing Applications and Photoshop in Social Media

Samantha D Dubocq
More than Donuts
Published in
2 min readFeb 21, 2017

Social Media allows you to represent yourself in any way you choose. For example, people tend to only post pictures of themselves that they find attractive or that positively represent their appearance. However, this image of yourself portrayed on social media might not always be entirely true or accurate. With Photoshop and other editing applications, users can change the way they look with a click of a button. You can whiten teeth, remove blemishes, and even change the shape of your body or face. The benefits to this could be that you could change what you dislike about a picture to make it worth posting.

This could boost your confidence, but also make you feel like you must edit all your pictures to be content with them. It also comes with the issue of over-editing. Many inexperienced people try to edit their photos and go overboard. For example, instead of just lighting your teeth one shade lighter, they end up making their teeth look bright and unnatural. After using these editing applications, a person can compare the before and after picture, often creating issues with self-image.

Personally, I enjoy these editing features because if a friend likes a picture that I despise, I can fix myself so they can post it with both of us being happy. I also like brightening and enhancing my pictures so that they appear more attractive. These apps also have made me feel more self-conscious because now when I look at a picture, I see what I can fix rather than what I like about the picture.

--

--