Social Media Opportunity

Olivia Hester
More than Donuts
Published in
1 min readApr 9, 2017

A negative connotation can easily be attached to our society’s overuse of social media. It is eliminating our communication skills, it is taking over our lives. However, I like to give credit where credit is due. There are definitely benefits to the vast expansion of Social Media, and one of them is my job. The title of my current job is Social Media Sales Representative, for a company called The Greek Years. This company creates and produces Greek wear for all sororites and fraternities, using active members within the chapter to endorse and sell their products. That’s where myself and my social media come in. The way I sell products is by posting proofs of designs through my personal social media accounts, primarily Facebook, in order to gage interest to see if my company should produce the design. The market for Greek apparel is huge, and using social media to sell is easy. After I collect interest from my sisters, the design chair within my company will create a link for any design, and I post it for others to order. That simple. In my opinion, this is a new, innovative way to boost sales within companies, and to employ others through online communication. I believe this is a great thing and am very thankful for the opportunity to have such a creative job.

--

--