Using Social Anonymity

Kyle Defler
More than Donuts
Published in
2 min readFeb 22, 2017

The anonymity of the internet and social media can give a person with motivation immense power. I committed a small exercise in this back in high school, when I assumed the identity of the “BEHS Leaker.”

Our senior class had started a game of “Assassin”, in which students were assigned (via Twitter) to eliminate opponents with water guns. I had been in a similar game in the past, so I knew that deception and mystery could cause some chaotic fun in the game. I happened to acquire the main list of targets through a dropped piece of paper in the hall. At that moment, I knew I held all the power within this game.

I covered every track I possibly could, so I would not get caught. I made a fake email for the Twitter account, @BEHSLeaker, and used a completely different writing style than my own (incorrect grammar and spelling). I solicited people on the account to send me more leaks. The intention was to cause a stir within the Senior Assassin game.

To my surprise, it worked. Word spread quickly of the leaker account. Students began to keep squirt guns in the glove boxes of their cars. People began camping out at their target’s house, waiting for them to slip up. The stakes were raised, simply through a few tweets I secretly made. To quote one student, “@BEHSassassins is ruining lives. Friendships have fallen apart. Enemies have been made. Trust no one”

As the game winded down, I was eliminated, so I was no longer invested in the game. I let loose all of my collected info, and the game progressed. Eventually, someone won and we all graduated, but the memory of the game and the mysterious leaker persisted. It’s several years since this game, and when I reminisce with old high school friends, they refused to believe I, how never used Twitter or cared too much about the game, would orchestrate a complex ruse to trick the entire school.

But, I did.

--

--