YouTube Celebrities…

Elaine May
More than Donuts
Published in
1 min readApr 7, 2017

A YouTube Celebrity. You’ve got to be kidding me. I didn’t even know that was a potential career path yet people are making more in one year from a YouTube channel than what I will make in my entire life. Yet I will have spent four years and thousands of dollars getting a college degree. To me that doesn’t seem quite fair, but I guess that’s how the world goes ‘round.

Let’s take a quick look at the top paid YouTube Celebrity of 2016. His name is PewDiePie, and he made $15 million in one year. You, if you are like me, are probably thinking that he has to do something pretty amazing to earn $15 million in one year. If you look at the description of his channel, all it says is “I make videos.” After more investigation through his channel, I couldn’t come up with a better description for the channel. It is everything from him playing games to creating challenges for his viewers and everything in between. I mean EVERYTHING.

Now, I don’t see anything in his channel that would warrant $15 million per year, but I have never been a huge peruser of YouTube in the first place. Maybe YouTube Celebrities, like PewDiePie, need to gain some perspective. Maybe I just need to gain some perspective. More than likely it is the latter.

--

--