Intermittent fasting the quickest way to weight loss

Leora Acoca Goldberg
More than just Vegan
4 min readDec 21, 2017

Dieting has been a life time struggle since becoming Miss Israel in the 80’s. Recovering from eating disorders was a long journey which ultimately created Optimalbody method, a healing formula that works for everyone. It is simple to implement natural and healthy .

This story is about healing myself initially through the power of natural plant-based food and later through different natural modalities. At first, I started eating a Macrobiotic diet which is based mostly on the vegan diet with an exception of small amount of fish and seaweeds. I felt so much better as I dropped the baked products and a large number of carbs, to which I was addicted. My bloating and sense of loss of control improved, and I was able to function again. I later shifted into a vegan/raw food diet and loved the transformative effect it had on my body and soul. I lost weight, my skin looked so much better and I was full of energy. Cleaning up my diet and replenishing my daily meals with green shakes, super-food, and exercise helped me feel in optimal form, and most importantly I felt happy again.

As a vegan, (mostly) I was eating at least 6 meals a day, I had no structure what so ever or, let's call it “strategy” in place. As long as I was busy I could keep my weight down. Things changed for me as I turned 50, all of a sudden I was getting fat around my belly, and that drove me crazy.

As a former model, and a TV personality I do like to look the best I can, and this was not happening !!!

I could not starve myself of food nor discipline myself into keeping a strict regimen, so put it in simple words I was in trouble, but that changed when one day I stumbled into a friend I have not seen in a while. He was looking great, leaner and better than ever.

Did you lose weight?

“Nope, just doing Intermittent fasting”, he said

and that was it for me. His answer sent me into research and more experimenting with fasting. It changed my view as to how to structure my daily intake of food without having to struggle. I believe that most of us overeat out of pleasure, boredom or frustration, the problem of course is when you don't take a break form eating, this is when you gain weight.

A fasting period is actually a long enough break signaling your body to go into an auto correction mode thus burning fat , reducing sugar levels and insulin (the hormone that makes us fat). This structure gives you the freedom to cheat occasionally knowing that your body’s auto correction mode will kick in during the fasting period. It has a social aspect to it -you don't have to isolate yourself, you can still have a late dinner with your friends as long as you follow with a 16 hours of fasting. (most of it while you sleep).

I lost weight after 2 weeks of keeping the cycle of 6/18 which means eating during 12–1800 pm, and fasting during 1800 pm -1200 pm the next day.

My blood sugar levels dropped, I lost stomach fat, and in total felt more energetic, happy and sharp.

So let's get into the core of the meaning of intermittent fasting — It means fasting in between your meals. when fasting longer than 14 hours, you start ripping off the benefits which include:

weight loss

Lower Insulin Level

More Fat burn in your body

better function of your Liver

Naturally, Increase (HGH) growth Hormone which helps regulate body composition, body fluids, muscle and bone repair, sugar and fat metabolism.

More mental energy, better concentration

improved digestion

No more bloating

No more craving

Ok, so how can I start??

Eat 2–3 meals during your eating window. I recommend you start with 7/17 cycle, its easier for beginners. when you feel ready you can try 6/18.

At first, eat 2–3 balanced meals during your eating window (you have 7 hours).

During your meals Increase good fats such as — Avocado, Chia seeds, nuts, almonds, flax seeds, hemp seeds /hemp oil, Goji berries, coconut oil. you may add free range eggs, organic goat milk products in moderation only. Fish and seaweeds in a small amount.

During your meals — Lower Your carbs intake (sugar, potatoes, grains, gluten, bread, pasta, fruits, alcoholic drinks. In general, your carbs should be limited to only 15–20% of your total caloric intake, that will help you burn fat in the absence of Glucose and Insulin in your bloodstream.

During your meals -Increase green vegetables —in order to remove all the metabolic toxins resulting from the keto process- you must eat plenty of green leafy vegetables rich in fiber, antioxidants, and mineral such as Kale, broccoli, collard greens, all leafy green veggies, leeks, green onions, cabbage etc.

During your meals-Include minerals rich foods -Add some good quality root vegetables that are helpful in digesting fats such as Daikon, and some seaweeds such as Hiziki, Kombu, Arame. The mineral-rich food assists in carrying efficiently all the toxins of the body, and as such keeping our body PH alkaline (less acidic).

Drink plenty of water, tea, during the intermittent fasting, caffeine is ok. You can drink coffee as long as you don't add sugar or milk.

Exercise -on a daily basis.

--

--

Leora Acoca Goldberg
More than just Vegan

Former Miss Israel, Vegan nutritionist, BSc. Harvard Journalism graduate school. Anti-aging &Aesthetics Expert. blogger www.leorashop.com