No, I am NOT lying, Dolly Parton is on a Galantis Song

Trace Salzbrenner
More With Music
Published in
2 min readOct 26, 2019

If you are thinking “What the hell?” I am right there with you. While I was browsing through the songs that were released last week I was happy to see a favorite electronic duo of mine produced a new song. However, on closer inspection, Galantis wasn’t the only name that excited me. Dolly Parton, country superstar and my personal idol, was a contributor on the track.

After tweeting a range of pictures all with the word faith emblazoned across it, the Swedish music producers revealed that Dolly and Mr. Probz would be joining them on their latest track “Faith.”

So how did this collab start? In a phone interview with Rolling Stone, Dolly Parton said, “They were trying to track me down. I guess Linus [Eklöw] and Christian [Karlsson], who are Galantis, had this song and they supposedly both were fans of mine. Somebody said ‘Do you think we can find her? Do you think she’d do it?’”

And, she did it.

“As soon as I heard it, I thought, ‘Yes! This is a song that the world needs right now,’” she explains. “It’s all about uplifting mankind and believing in a higher power. All the things we need in this dark, ol’ dreary world right now.”

The song is, as Parton said, uplifting and full of life. It is absolutely a Galantis tune, except it has the fun of Dolly Parton singing about having faith.

It has the same harpy synth progressions that we’ve come to love from the Swedish duo except this time they seem to have a little bit of an acoustic guitar base that was worked up to the current sound. That or Parton is powerful enough to make acoustic guitar appear out of anywhere.

For the drop, is has a processed voice singing over a gorgeous array of synth bass, a chorus synth that adds to the feel-good nature, and a lot of sounds that fill in the gaps.

This song was absolutely welcome to both Galantis and Dolly Parton's discography because it doesn't feel out of place for either of them. It feels exactly how a collab between the two would sound and I just hope Dolly works to make even more fun electronic music.

--

--