Raising Hell by Kesha (ft. Big Freedia)and what to expect on the next album

Trace Salzbrenner
More With Music
Published in
3 min readOct 26, 2019
A picture from the music video for the new Kesha song.

I too can find the trouble all by myself, Kesha, and this song makes me want to do just that. The first single to be released off her new album “High Road”, Kesha’s “Raising Hell” is a great sign of what’s to come.

After a 2 year break from glorious Kesha music, the artist is back with a little help from NOLA bounce star Big Freedia with an unexpected gospel satire tune.

The song combines elements that we saw implemented in Kesha’s previous album with signature Big Freedia sounds. It has thick, juicy bass drums that vibrate under the melody of horns and a cut-up Big Freedia vocals.

Kesha doesn’t give the most outstanding vocal performance in this song but after listening to it on repeat for a few hours, she really didn’t need to. The song is meant to be fun and make the listener happy about their sinner lifestyle.

The Music Video

The music video is an experience sperate from the track. The video plays up the gospel satire of the song and increases it to 11 by focusing on a televangelist that ends up killing her husband.

The only problem I have with the video is that it didn’t feature Big Freedia. I would have loved to see the larger than life personality singing in the choir or even shouting her parts from the participating audience. The song definitely has a heavy New Orleans bounce influence and I would have loved to see the person that brought the style to mainstream be in the video.

The Upcoming Album

Album cover for “High Road”

As mentioned this song is the first single to be released from Kesha’s upcoming album “High Road.”

If you are expecting another emotional journey like “Rainbow” you probably won’t find that on this set of songs.

In an interview with Rolling Stones, Kesha said, “I feel like this time around I reconnected to the unrestrained joy and wildness that’s always been a part of me — and in this process I have had the most fun I’ve ever had making a record. I hope my fans love it as much as I loved making it — and know I always have y’all in mind.”

The tracklist has a few notable things that have to be pointed out.

The album has 15 songs on it with features (other than Big Freedia) from Brian Wilson, Sturgill Simpson, and Wrabel. Of the 15 songs on the album, nine have been reported to be co-written by Wrabel.

Another feature that screams for attention is Ke$ha. Yes, Ke$ha, the party animal version of Kesha from her early albums, will be making an appearance according to the tracklist. What this means for the song and the Kesha universe, I am unsure. But, I am excited to hear the song “Kinky” that the alter-ego is supposed to make their appearance on.

Lastly, there is a song called “The Potato Song (Cuz I Want To).” There is nothing important about it, I just thought that needed more attention.

Really I think that this album will be a great mix of old Kesha and new in both literal (with the song “Kinky”) and metaphorical ways. The album is scheduled to be released on January 10th.

--

--