More Branches Talks To Johnson IP.

Steve West.
MoreBranches
Published in
4 min readAug 14, 2017

Johnson IP is a young Music producer from Lagos, Nigeria. You might not know him yet but he’s growing his sounds within the underground circle. With a song (in the works) produced for TNAF lead singer Brumeh’s upcoming single, ‘Songs For Us’, I guess he’s plotting his way already.

We had a brief discussion, it’s always nice seeing a young african mind with a dream.

(That’s the only picture we could get of Johnson, we know it looks like a thirst trap.)

Tell us about yourself ?

Johnson IP : Well I’ve always been into music from an early age with a father that blasted oldies at 8 in the morning and a mother that was in the choir. I guess all these played a part. I remember back in ‘Primary Three’ when my dad told me to learn an instrument cause it was something he had always wanted to learn. I started with the clarinet and moved on to the Piano after an embarrassing asthma scare during an orchestral performance in muson. I was born in Lagos in 1999 being the only child i kept to myself kept myself busy with my Yahama and surrounded myself with novels although i soon stopped my music lessons cause all they taught me was classical music and it wasn’t a good form of expression. I went to Rainbow College in about SS2 where i saw a friend of mine using FL Studio, I remember leaving my laptop and sitting next to him and observing him. It was such a nice view watching someone turn the melodies in their head to reality, that was in November 2015. It wasn’t till about February 2016 i could make anything good I guess, I’ll say thats when it all began.

What are melodies to you ?

Johnson IP : Melodies are an expression, its a stand in for when words are not enough. When words don’t make sense put the emotions into notes and make the listener understand. It’s literally the voice in my head.

What has music done for you and what do you want it to do for others ?

Johnson IP : I went through a slightly dark childhood it was always me my iPod, my PSP and some random books I found in my dad’s library, it was always a mood changer. For others, I feel like it should be able to fit your mood not our usual “owambe” kind of jam, the mood and vibe of the song should be able to tailor the emotions or vibe your mind has and just flow with it.

What’s your dream with your music ?

Johnson IP : I honestly can’t tell you that I have one I’m not going to lie, I’m just going with the feel. Of course to see myself at the top with all the various minds I’ve encountered won’t be bad.

Why do you feel producers don’t get the credit they deserve and how do you want to help change this ?

Johnson IP : I won’t even say that people never acknowledge the producers I mean most of the time when you hear a song you listen to the beat before the artist starts singing and get an opinion, If you play a song out you’ll get a comment about the beat one way or another. It’s not that we don’t get enough credit it’s just that the attention span towards the technical and non-vocal parts of the song is quite short. Everyone is normally hyped about the beat but no one cares enough to compliment the producer you feel? Cause at the end of the day an average person won’t connect to the synths you played or that drum pattern, they connect with the lyrics of the songs. Honestly I don’t think it can ever completely change sure we can improve the matter a little bit but never completely but I guess that’s the same everywhere you can improve the nation but not overhaul the system. Although as of now it’s way better due to producer tags, once you hear “It’s young John the wicked producer” or “sarz on the beat” you’re in for a treat. I really don’t feel there’s anything one person can do to change it “the it all starts with you” slang doesnt work here, a collective or an association is needed once we brainstorm we’ll find something.

--

--