Pump Up The Volume

#22 — Pump Up the Volume

Liat Portal
Morning Musings Magazine

--

A Story Unfolding Across Timelines

My name is Liat, and I currently live in San Francisco. I was born and raised in Kiryat Ata, a small town in Israel. When I was a teenager, I could watch television for hours. I was fascinated by movies and TV shows, which are a huge part of how I see the world today. Movies and TV shows educated me on history, relationships, technology, and entrepreneurship and showed me that regular people could overcome life’s biggest challenges and achieve the impossible. One of the movies that influenced me was “Pump Up The Volume.” This movie made me realize that people pay attention and are thirsty for the words of broadcasters as much as they want to listen to music.

Radio waves were first discovered at the end of the 19th century. A few decades later, this innovative technology was upgraded to broadcasting for the public and became popular in the 1920s. The invention of the transistor in 1948 was a “transformation” in the history of the radio, as it turned it from a cumbersome and expensive device into a portable and cheap one. For many people over the age of 80, the radio was a source of faster news consumption than waiting for newspapers and a significant entertainment device. Over the years, the demand for radio broadcasting skyrocketed, which led to the opening of many radio stations that began broadcasting 24 hours a day.

--

--