Mystery: Are hams anti-Semitic or a practical alternative to lamb?

--

Lent Day 40

Hunting Easter eggs at my cousin’s place in Murray, Utah.

Here it is Easter Saturday, the day before the big mystery about Jesus rising from the dead. I looked forward to Easter when I was a kid, I’d say through junior high school. That meant our family ritual of going to the church early for a pancake breakfast. There was a lot of Easter anticipation, although, at my Presbyterian church the waiting didn’t include a big emphasis on sacrificing something meaningful during Lent.

After my usual two Easter pancakes, I should have figured I had some sort of allergy to flour because invariably, I’d get a stomach ache. I don’t think I ever went home, but I laid down before the youth choir warm-up rehearsal.

We sang during the early service, the adults at the “big” service at 11 a.m.

After church, we went home. The Easter rabbit had hidden eggs and chocolate rabbits around the yard and house. Let the hunt begin!

I don’t recall any sort of Easter dinner, but I think if Mom prepared anything special it was a ham. As I grew older, I thought that ham on Easter was anti-Semitic. That stood to reason based on the discrimination towards Jewish people in America over the years considering that orthodox Jews don’t eat pork.

--

--

Alan O'Hashi, Views from Behind the Lens
Morning Musings Magazine

Have Typewriter-Will Travel: I’m a filmmaker & author. My book “Beyond Heart Mountain” was just released by Winter Goose Publishing www.beyondheartmountain.com