Coffee and Time Travel

a coffee journal

Ginni Chauhan
Morning Musings Magazine
2 min readMay 9, 2024

--

10–01–2024

Photo by Tom Muller on Unsplash

Let me collect myself. It becomes hard to recall after so many days, how it’s supposed to feel.

The coffee seems straight out of a time machine. The same commercially designed rippled paper cup. Sipping it, I feel like I’ve traveled all the way to the experience of a purchase once again. I won’t attach any emotion to our association here, though. Mechanical and magical both could be attributed to the working of time machines and coffee machines.

It’s already noon, and so much time was lost today that the rest I chose to spend in a bakery restaurant here, which has served me decent coffee in the past. By decent, I mean hot enough, strong enough, and fresh enough to keep my taste, sense of well-being, and value of time and coin.

I won’t count my disappointments either; consistent coffee is extremely hard to pull off and, even when done correctly, comes off as commercial. Only to put off the people involved in its processes.

Coffee is a people’s business; from producers to processors to consumers, the value people attach to every cup makes the whole process worthwhile. Commercial and mechanical give it a livestock vibe. Not forgetting that occasional motor oil taste in your cup of Americano. You’d have it anyway, knowing that life’s made you tough, and tough gets going.

Besides, if you wanted a good time anyway, you’d have some company, and you’d be having something nice together. Like a paneer tikka biryani, perhaps. That’s a day well spent with good food. Yet, despite all the permutations, you choose motor oil in a paper cup with hot water added for digestion. As if you were on a diet of depressants and a little cleansing was required of your systems.

Photo by Shreyak Singh on Unsplash

Whoa! Where’s that coming from? Is it the final coming of mental well being? A sign of healing? The ability of satire and comedy on irony.

I proved my point, though. The coffee feels straight out of a time machine. As a good reminder that we still need great coffee readily available globally. We’ve only scratched our backs with Starbucks, Pete’s, Horton's, and Manger’s. We’d probably wipe our a** too while we are at it.

Time to leave Earth!

--

--

Ginni Chauhan
Morning Musings Magazine

I write what I feel. I write over cups of coffee. It's never enough, that's why I do it again. https://buymeacoffee.com/ginnichauhan