Friday & Sunday

A Love Story

Fọlábòmí Àmọ̀ó
Morning Musings Magazine
1 min readApr 11, 2024

--

iStock

I love you!

And
there is
no doubt
in my mind

that you feel
the same

But,
does this
have a chance
to last?

Is this something
our families
can look past?

Is this
a decision
our faiths
can withstand?

Who will
our children
call out to
in despair-

yours or mine?

You are
my home.

My love;
my joy.

The one
I want to spend
forever with

from this moment
forward

But,
my head
keeps fighting
the beat
of my heart

F*ck!!!

This burns deep!

It hurts
too much!

I wish
I could’ve
stopped myself

before
I fell
so hard

I wish
I could’ve
seen this coming

before
I tasted
true happiness
in your arms

But,
maybe I did

I was
just blinded

by the sweetness
of your love.

©️ Fọlábòmí Àmọ̀ó 2024

This is an excerpt from The Valentine Notes V. If you enjoyed this poem, please consider reading the entire book. It’s free!

--

--