I Saved a Life Today

Choosing a shelter puppy

Frost Corvus
Morning Musings Magazine
3 min readJul 26, 2024

--

Photo by author.

The day after the Fourth of July is a nightmare for any dog rescuer or shelter worker. It’s the day of death. The gallows day for so many deserving animals. Animals who have ended up on death row by no fault of their own. Pets who once knew a human as their companion, now waiting in a cell surrounded by barking, crying, and screaming animals. A terrifying ordeal. They fear the worst, which is most likely their fate.

Knowing this, I decided to go to my local understaffed, under-funded shelter to adopt a small older dog to join my pack. My background is in special needs animals. You name it, I have probably handled it for at least a brief period of time. My specialty area is sight and hearing impaired. Although I also have a lot of experience with mobility issues. So, it makes sense for me to adopt seniors.

The shelter here is tiny. If memory serves they can only house ten dogs. I made the appointment. The next day I headed over to the shelter.

Upon arrival I noticed this beautiful small pit mix in an outdoor kennel. He was so sweet, wearing a very expensive Carhartt collar. No one had come for him. The inside kennels were full, so he was outside in ninety degree temps with a shaded enclosure. Not ideal, but better than running the streets.

Inside the shelter were all but one larger dogs. A Cane Corso named Atlas was absolutely stunning. If it weren’t for the needs of my current dogs, he probably would have come home with me. However, being a practiced dog person who knows her limitations, adding a 150-pound dog to my current pack would not be wise. Atlas not only outweighs me but I am certain he is quite strong. My mastiff/Catahoula mix would not be thrilled. And I don’t need two gladiators going at it with tiny me in between.

Which brings us to an important point. Please know your and your current pet’s limits before adopting. Failing an adoption makes it even more difficult on that animal who ends up being returned, or worse, dumped.

As I was preparing to leave, a foster pup showed up. For those of you unfamiliar with rescue, animals can be “fostered” in approved homes to make more space at shelters and in rescues. It helps to socialize them as well. This increases their chances for adoption.

There I stand about to leave while this adorable face approaches me in her foster mother’s arms. Coco is not what I am looking for. Nor is she what I had budgeted for. She is going to be a big girl. Probably 80 pounds.

The foster mom hands me this adorable, wiggly baby. The animal control officer says to me, “She’s at about that age where she isn’t adoptable.” I ask for clarification. The officer and the mom explain that people either want a small puppy or a dog over a year old.

The dread question escapes my lips. “Is this a kill shelter?” I am answered with a solemn nod. Coco is in danger of euthanasia.

The name Brandy pops into my head, and I know she is going home with me. I left, knowing I had saved a life that day.

Photo by author.

Meet Brandy! The terror of Plymouth, NC and holder of my heart.

--

--

Frost Corvus
Morning Musings Magazine

Dog rescuing Witchy Artist who dabbles in writing and sticking her nose into other people’s business.