The Better Days

Still waiting

Cleo
Morning Musings Magazine
2 min readAug 10, 2024

--

Unsplash

It goes on again and again,

And everyday just feels the same,

Each one passing in the same time frame.

It’s like you’re just jumping through loops,

Through that same pattern unchanging,

And the weeks just pass in groups,

Creating a continuous format with nothing interchanging.

On and on they go,

With nothing new coming with its flow.

I look for excitement,

I search for any improvement.

I try to be eager about anything,

Amidst all the monotony,

Turns out I just wasted my time on everything,

Because it was nothing but a pretense, it was all phony.

Unsplash

I just sit here everyday getting fat,

While the cushions underneath me get more and more flat,

Wake up, eat, read the morning paper, sleep,

I could say my routines are worth nothing, just cheap.

I watch other people’s lives and their achievements,

While I ask myself, “When will be my breakthrough moment?”

When there would be a change and nothing but improvements,

That very day someone lists out my accolades,

Instead of my outstanding debts and incomplete payments,

And I’ll have my very own standing ovation with an endless praise.

Oh! My dreams are way too big,

But that’s how I like them, too deep to find the history or dig,

But my success only exists and lives in my head,

I realized that, now staring at the tv ahead.

Non-existent… not yet,

But very soon, it’ll come true,

When it does, they’ll never unhear it or forget.

How it will, I have no clue,

But I know it will when the time is due.

For now, instead of waiting, I’ll make my own change,

As my success story I compile and arrange,

It’s coming, I can almost feel it,

The taste of success is definitely gonna be sweet.

I’ll make my way,

My victory will be self made,

Those times are coming, The Better Days.

--

--