We’re all cups of coffee

Nick Hong
Morning Page Diddies
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readOct 20, 2021
Photo by Nathan Dumlao on Unsplash

Made some morning coffee to go
with this Morning Page for today, 8/13.

Your coffee bean grind size,
something you’ve been toying with through
the gentle whirrr of a hand grinder,
really helps realize a different flavor
to your dark roast Cuban brew.

Too fine and the pour over water takes too long
and flavors too strong in the grind,
too coarse and the water courses through the beans
without taking on the meaning
of the steaming perfect dark brew you’re aiming for.

Each cup of coffee has its own character and flavor,
each showing up with its own flare
to help you dare through the morning.
The dreary clouds of this morning
can’t shroud the inner rays of your mind’s eye that can see
with crystal clear clarity that I am loving this creativity
that flows out of me each morning,
like rivers eternally coursing through source ever surely.

The ego each person collects, the flavor it lends to their identity
is like coffee that flavors the waters of the source
as it courses through each of us.

Some of us are like light French roast,
always bright and ready to toast life.
Others are darker sorts with more bitter strife burned into us,
a little coarse with no remorse for how we turned through life.

We each make for a different sort of coffee,
some are overpriced fancy and intense Sightglass pour-overs
and others are a more welcoming sort,
like trucker diner coffees. Each fine, no, divine,
for different comports of time and life.

Before we try and sort and assign value, let me remind you
that in this metaphor we are all still coffee,
and that the most remarkable score
is that we are all made up of source,
the water that is the starter,
the steaming hydration that serves
as a foundation to all our libations.

Man, that was fire 🔥 !
Sometimes I feel like I’m keeping score
to keep looking for stuff to inspire me.
Maybe I’ll replace the word stuff with better fluff,
or maybe I’ll just be entirely raw and honest, rawnesty
as my friend Gavin inspires me to be.

Giving me the gift of coursing source,
seeing these morning pages as due wages
in the language of self-love,
feeling like the inspiration is raining from up above.

Speaking of rain, even if a little pitter patter does happen later,
I’m still gonna throw on my running shoes and play skater
to the streets of New York City,
running to the tunes and feeling my legs stretch fully
out from underneath me,
faithfully carrying me and making me thankful
for this physically gifted body,
gifted to me by my parents and ancestors,
for the mind trained by past and future mentors,
for a future in which I see myself as creator and inventor
of sick lines and rhymes,
of other mental and physical constructs.

Maybe I’ll one day make fat stacks of bucks
on this new artistry I see within me.
For now I sedately and serenely tread through
this corporate tech bend gratefully.

I am slowly awakening to the full me.
I sincerely believe that the fully awakened giant within me
is capable of immense propensity for elation,
vibration with other giants waiting within my friends.

Bring it back full circle,
this giant needs to take a moment of quiet
and peacefully take some sips of his morning coffee
and wade gently into his job.
Lob and lend me the strength
to one day break free of the chains of salary.

Until then, I’m on the mend through creativity and coffee. 🧠 ☕️☀️

--

--

Nick Hong
Morning Page Diddies

Eng Manager @ Medium. Life coach, amateur poet, kickboxer. Dancing through life.