Dear Human Body: Thank You For Saving My Startup

Michael
Morning Short
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2015

--

I’m writing to sincerely thank you for your help this morning.

Last night I went to bed without scheduling tomorrow’s Morning Short. That would have meant dozens of angry emails, dozens of lost subscribers, and a very unpleasant morning.

I don’t usually forget. I have a system in place: I have multiple notifications set for 10 PM. Unfortunately, I was asleep by 9:30. I never saw the notifications. But somehow you knew.

Somehow, you knew what I’d forgotten, and you acted, dear body. Normally, you won’t wake me up before 9:30 AM, but you woke me up at 5:50 this morning, and you wouldn’t go back into your deep slumber, no matter how hard I pushed you.

I told you “the sun hasn’t risen”, but you replied “wake up”. I told you, “I want to sleep”, but you replied “I said wake up”. I pleaded, “Please. Don’t make this morning unpleasant”, but you replied stoically “You’ll be fine. Wake up”.

Finally, thirty minutes later, I was awake enough to realize what you’d been trying to tell me. I realized, at about 6:20 that I had not scheduled a short for this morning. An hour later, at 7:20 AM, today’s short was ready for sending, and it was an awesome short too! 20 minutes later I was sleeping like a baby.

I don’t know whether this was coincidence, or my brain subconsciously signalled that I had something to do, and that I needed to wake up, but whatever happened, thousands of people got their short story this morning, and I still got to sleep. So, thanks again body. I couldn’t have done it without you.

Love,

Your friend forever,

Michael

--

--