The Enchanted Lavender Mountains

#100StoryChallenge (Round 2) №35

Lark Morrigan
Morrigans Wake
Published in
4 min readMay 12, 2024

--

Generated by AI with Night Café Studio

I wake up lying on a mound of light lavender snow.

Where am I? How did I get here?

I blink several times before I finally register the unfamiliarity of my surroundings.

Disoriented, I get up and squint — up ahead there is a strange building with lavender rooftops and a warm glow inside. But the tracks sloping out of it strike me as odd yet intriguing.

I climb up the hill and enter the building. There’s a crowd of people laughing and being merry as they wait in line for something.

“Excuse me?” I say awkwardly to the nearest person.

He doesn’t respond or even acknowledge my presence.

I walk up to a lady who seems friendlier, but she doesn’t respond either.

I approach a mother and her child.

“Hi! Could you tell me what this line is for?”

They do not respond at all or even tilt their heads in my direction.

Please tell me I’m dreaming. I close my eyes for a few moments, thinking this has got to be a dream if I’m in a world where nobody can hear me, but when I open my eyes again, I am still here.

--

--