The Kingdom of the Sun

#100StoryChallenge (Round 2) №5

Lark Morrigan
Morrigans Wake
Published in
3 min readJun 18, 2023

--

Photo generated by AI with Night Café Studio

I appeared at the fortress of the Sun, in a kingdom that had been at peace for the last 10,000 years. My feet were cooled by the river of bright, crystal blue. I got out of the water and approached the fortress.

I’d heard many myths and and first-person accounts of the kingdom of the Sun. It was meant to be inaccessible and supposedly impossible for just anyone to enter. Only the wisest who fully knew divine, sacred knowledge were invited to live here, away from the chaos of Earth.

I was about to do what no human back on Earth was able to do.

I was just a merchant’s son without much magical knowledge — some, but probably not enough to make me worthy enough to stay here. But I needed to convince this exclusive group to let me stay, for I was being hunted down back home by a band of mercenaries who wanted my life in exchange for a debt that my father couldn’t repay, and this was the place nobody could ever find me.

With the aid of a mysterious stranger and a few forgotten scrolls from a thousand years ago, I managed to arrive here in one piece.

The door was unlocked, so I went inside.

But I did not see anyone in the hall.

--

--