The Secret Orb To Another World

#100StoryChallenge №57

Lark Morrigan
Morrigans Wake
Published in
2 min readJan 10, 2023

--

Photo generated by AI with Night Café Studio (with permission to use for commercial purposes)

I am not the best agent. I am not the most sophisticated.

I am not even the most diligent. Or obedient.

But what I am good at is lurking. Sneaking around undetected. Finding out information that the higher-ups try their best to conceal from me. They don’t know the extent of what I know.

I am useful to them in a way that others aren’t, but at the same time, I know they don’t trust me.

It’s the reason why I discovered a glowing blue orb. By poking around in a camp where they don’t allow people like me to go because I am not on their rung of the ladder.

The other day I heard voices from the orb, pleading for me to set them free. I caught snippets of sob stories, of how they were forced out of their home. Of how they were sent over there against their will.

But I looked at them with defeat and said, “I am sorry.”

Who put them there? Why are they not at home on earth? What is the purpose of it all?

The orb must be a hologram connected to a distant planet of people that my superiors have under control for some unknown reason.

I think about all the people in my family I have to take care of. And how going against orders can affect…

--

--