Who to Follow on Social Media: Winter 2016 Edition

Molly Katharine
6 min readFeb 8, 2016

--

This list of the best of the best accounts to follow on Twitter and Instagram (in my eyes, anyway) will make your daily social browsing much more worth your while.

At this point in the digital age, opening up Twitter, Instagram and other top social media platforms several times throughout the day is second nature to most of us. That said, we probably all have our specific social media vices, right? For me, it’s obsessively checking up on a hilarious comedian on Twitter or a prominent blogger on Instagram. Although, personally, I’m far too lazy to pursue either online persona myself and tend to stick to portraits of my cat instead. Anyway, I digress — this article is not about my cat.*

* Or is it? You can follow him on his new Instagram account, @yourpalmilo.

As a social media manager, my personal relationship with social media has only grown more needy over the years in regards to the content I look at, which has led me to curate a specific list of personalities (from chefs to photographers to writers) that truly offer me something enjoyable. Since that may also be par the course for you, reader, I thought I’d share my own favorite accounts and why I think they bring great category-specific content to the world. Trust me when I say these social media users are far more likely to wow you, educate you, or simply make you smile than they are to make you hit the dreaded Unfollow button.

Twitter

For kitchen inspiration, follow a few of my favorites:

  • Andrew Zimmern (@andrewzimmern): I’ve interpreted that he tends to be a “love or hate” sort of TV personality, but I’ve always liked watching Bizarre Foods on the Travel Channel. Both his Twitter account and Instagram account are basically a continuation of his lively food and travel narratives that inspire both wanderlust and a more advanced palette. He occasionally posts recipes worth trying, too — like this corn, crab and shrimp bisque that sounds heavenly and maybe even a little easy.
  • Bon Appetit Magazine (@bonappetit): Sometimes I resent food personalities for assuming I’m rich or connected enough to have a neighborhood charcuterie. Like, sorry, Ina Garten — I love you, but your life is ridiculous. Bon Appetit consistently saves the day by posting recipes that are equal parts intriguing and realistic. Ever since following this account laden with excellent food photography, I’ve been hooked on their excellent recipes, from celery root mashed potatoes to adult Spaghettio’s. Hey, we all have to grow up sometime.

These funny folks always provide a good laugh:

  • Internet Hippo (@InternetHippo): I’m pretty much always on the prowl for a new Twitter comedian to obsess over, and lately it’s Internet Hippo. For mild political commentary to jokes fit for a BuzzFeed listicle, look no further.
  • Ministry of Gifs (@GIFs): Everybody loves a good GIF. Everybody I want to hang out with, that is. Thankfully, this account posts amazing ones day in and day out for you to save and use at just the right moment.
  • Jeff Houghton (@TheMysteryHour): Our local comedy celeb has been making me laugh offline for years, but he’s got a good thing going on Twitter, too.
  • Los Feliz Daycare (@LosFelizDaycare): This satirical account is one of the most clever I’ve ever come across. It ribs new age-y yuppies and Millennials with snarky social commentary, all in the form of live tweeting the day-to-day of an upper class LA daycare. So specific, but so worth your time.

These accounts will add some worthwhile industry news to your feed:

  • Social Media Insider (@SocialMedia411): Social Media Insider is a pretty good resource to follow for commentary on social media trends. Better yet, it isn’t cheesy or misguided (we’re looking at you, social media ‘gurus’).
  • PR Daily (@PRDaily): Same, but with more of a public relations spin on its subject matter.
  • Mashable (@Mashable): Mashable and its many Twitter offshoots have turned more to pop culture commentary in recent years, but its content is short and sweet. Mashable articles are perfect when you need a quick mental break from your daily work.

While you’re at it, check out our honorable mentions:

  • PAPERBEATSSCISSORS! (@paperbeatsscissors): This is our San Francisco-based Sr. Designer’s Twitter account. He makes us laugh out loud on the regular. If you like illustrations, cats and snarky jokes, he’s your guy.
  • Kim Kiekergaardashian (@KimKierkegaard): This comedic account waxes poetic in the merged voices of Kim Kardashian and philosopher Søren Kierkegaard.

Instagram

I love these Springfield, MO-centric accounts:

  • Crystal Bridges Museum (@crystalbridgesmuseum): I love visiting Crystal Bridges, so following its Instagram account is an easy way for me to stay up-to-date on new exhibits and museum offerings.
  • Mother’s Brewing (@mothersbrewing): It’s great to follow along with a business that stays busy in the community, but their Instagram feed always makes me crave a beer. I suppose that’s the point.
  • Love Springfield (@lovespringfield): This is the account of an active group of locals who meet up all over Springfield to talk shop and take pictures of some of our best local offerings. Love Springfield’s Instagram features “weekend takeovers” courtesy locals like you and me who want to share their own favorite places to visit.

These users give me a serious case of wanderlust:

  • U.S. Department of the Interior (@usinterior): This account shows off the most beautiful landscapes and wildlife to be found in America along with genuinely interesting facts. Beautiful pictures and mini-doses of education? Count me in.
  • Tiny Atlas (@tinyatlasquarterly): This interactive account is possibly my favorite generalized travel Instagram account. If you’ve got good photography chops, you can join the party using the hashtag #mytinyatlas.
  • Explore Canada (@explorecanada): This account posts stunning photography that will truly make you want to drop everything and head north. Every single photo is worth a Like.
  • Alison Turner (@alisontravels): Alison posts amazing photos from her travels all across the western United States, but her cute rescue pup, Max, might be my favorite part of her account.

These photographers and artists are supremely talented:

  • Kendra Miller (@kwanalee): Kendra is one of my favorite artists to follow and regularly posts updates on her magnificent, imaginative work. Bonus: She’s a local! You can typically find her booth at local art festivals.
  • Helen Dardik (@helen_dardik): This artist’s mega-bright illustrations are the pop of color your Instagram feed didn’t knew it needed. Everything she produces is beautiful.
  • Kevin Russ (@kevinruss): Kevin Russ seems to become more prolific by the day, but not without merit — his iPhone-only Instagram is unique and impressive.

Don’t forget about these honorable mentions:

  • New York Public Library (@nypl): This account posts pictures of the NYPL’s help desk inquiries from the days before Google existed, accompanied by the clever hashtag #letmelibrarianthatforyou. One of my recent favorites reads “Wanted: a list of historical characters who were at the right place at the right time.”
  • Cats of Instagram (@catsofInstagram): Why wouldn’t you follow Cats of Instagram? This account is legendary.
  • Pumpkin the Raccoon (@pumpkintheraccoon): This account documents the domestic life of a family pet that happens to be an adorable raccoon. I do not tire of seeing Pumpkin on my Instagram feed.

Are there any accounts on Twitter and Instagram I should follow? Join the conversation by tweeting or tagging me: @molly_katharine.

--

--

Molly Katharine

I’m currently in the pursuit of less chaos. My therapeutic vices include cooking, watching Frasier, and admiring plants.