Code Diaries: Week 4: I Got Into Lambda School!!

Lisa W
Mother of Codes
Published in
3 min readApr 30, 2019

--

And I’m simultaneously ecstatic and petrified…

by Drobot Dean, sourced from Adobe Stock

Some of you may have noticed that I’ve posted a little less on Medium this month. I can tell you now that it’s because I’ve been a busy little beaver, doing online courses and coding exercises.

I’ve found it really enjoyable, but I am still very aware that I’m very much at the beginner level of this journey. The great thing about this is that there are so many resources aimed at beginners. And I am lapping them up.

But I’m more worried about what comes after when it starts to get tough, (really tough).

I’m fully aware that this will happen and I want to push through it. That’s one of the reasons I looked into doing a coding boot camp.

There are so many boot camps available, but most of them are too costly for me at this time. They also offer, on average, just a few months of study, and that makes me a little nervous. So when I found Lambda School — a 9 month CS course that costs nothing until you have a job in the industry, it was a no brainer for me.

If you look online at reviews, opinions and information for Lambda School, you’ll find both positive and negative. The negative seems primarily concentrated on Reddit, so I take that with a pinch of salt. There are also opinions to be found…

--

--

Lisa W
Mother of Codes

Writer, photographer, tamer of animals, mother of cats, grower of trees & plants, herbal concoctress, occasional comedian. Blogs at www.ethicallywell.com