4 Tips To Care For Postpartum Hair

AshLee Frymier
Motherhood
Published in
4 min readAug 3, 2017

I have long hair. Like bottom of my back long. Keeping it healthy has always been a struggle for me. Especially since having my youngest son and my thyroid decided to wack out and destroy my hair in the process.

If you’re postpartum, losing hair or notice a significant difference in your hair at any time, I encourage you to have some labs drawn to check for thyroid problems. While postpartum hair loss can be normal it can also be a sign of thyroid conditions. I’m not a doctor so please always check with your doctor before trying any medications or vitamins and for goodness sake don’t google diagnose yourself. Not that I’ve ever done that or anything…

Anyway, back to hair. My biggest hair problems postpartum were breakage and dryness. I did some research on how to care for my locks and struggled through that first year of postpartum hair recovery. I’m finally seeing my hair get healthier and I wanted to 4 tips I’ve found that actually help in the process.

These tips are great for any time, but they are especially helpful during the postpartum months of hair loss and common texture changes.

1. Massage with oil.

When I first started noticing hair-loss my knee jerk reaction was to not touch my scalp at all for fear of losing more hair, but actually gentle massage stimulates the follicles and promotes hair growth. Use warm coconut oil, olive oil or aloe vera as you message to also add shine and moisture. If your hair is especially oily then skip the oils. Massaging for 5–10 minutes is recommended by stylists to stimulate the hair follicles and hopefully get some new hair growth.

2. Lay off the heat

As much as possible don’t use heat on your hair. If you must, use a really good heat protector. I really like One ‘N Only Argan Oil Thermal Shine Spray. If you need some ideas how to style sans-heat try wrapping your hair around a cloth headband or in small twists to get waves without using damaging heat. Ditching the hot tools will give your hair some time to heal itself and stop breaking off as quickly.

image via Amazon

Over drying with a blow dryer is also a huge hair hazard. Who knew? Honestly, using a little texturizing powder like Batiste XXL Plumping Powder can give the same volume as blow drying. With this product, just a dab will do ya.

image via Ulta.com

3. Don’t strangle your tresses

As tempting as it is to wrap your hair up in a towel after the shower, don’t do it! Let it lay down naturally and gently pat it dry as needed. Run your fingers through or use a wide tooth comb while your hair is still damp to get out any tangles.

Another strangler is using a hair tie while sleeping. I used to always flip my hair up in a pony tail or bun and secure it with a hair tie until my stylist told me I was weakening my locks. I had no idea!

4. Reduce Washing

Don’t stop washing altogether, but reduce to 1 to 2 times a week. Use dry shampoo or even baby powder between washes if the oil between washes becomes too much. Soon your hair and natural oils will adjust to the new schedule and you won’t notice excess oil between washing.

All in all the postpartum hair isn’t all that bad. Some lucky ladies don’t notice much of a difference in their hair at all. And just like anything else our bodies have gone through for our beloved littles, hair changes will come and go and we will live to tell the tale. And boy, do I like to tell it.

You can read more of Ashlee’s writing on her blog and also follow her Instagramfor snap shots from her daily adventures!

Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood from women like you.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

AshLee Frymier
Motherhood

I’m a working mom who spends my nights and weekends soaking up my two toddler boys and convincing myself I’m not a shopaholic.