4 Tips to Organize your Schedule

silenceissuspicious
Motherhood
Published in
4 min readMay 22, 2017

As mom’s we are literally busy all hours that we are awake. Working out, cleaning, laundry, dishes, taking care of kid(s), errands, appointments, some of us have jobs, cooking, taking kids to school or activities, grocery shopping and the list goes on and on and on. So how in the world are we supposed to get it all done?!?! How are we supposed to keep up with it all AND manage to get sleep somewhere in there too? That’s what coffee is for…am I right?

Well I say that there has to be another way! I want to have my cake AND eat it too. I want to be productive and manage to still get my 7+ hours of sleep, you’re rolling your eyes at me while sipping your extra strength coffee aren’t you?? Seriously, there has to be a better way and I think I may have a solution that you can use. It is one that I have been personally implementing in my life and am REALLY seeing the results I have been wanting.

1. Write out a basic schedule for your week:

Now, just hear me out. Sit down and make a list of your week and how it normally goes, from the time you open your eyes to the time you close them. Write out times and what you do, I know not every day is the same BUT there are certain times you do certain things. For example: nap time, play time, school time, dinner time and so on.

2. Organize and COMMIT to your list:

Organize that list you made for the week. Make it VERY direct, like when you write down PLAY TIME you are ONLY playing with your kids during that time. This means you’re not cleaning and you’re not scrolling Facebook during this time. You are just playing with them in the moment!

I would go through the day and when the kids were playing I was on my phone working or doing chores. That means I was NEVER in the moment with them. Every night I would lay down and think how if I would have just stopped for a second and played with them instead of folding laundry or whatever I was doing at the time. Mom guilt, it’s real and it’s tough on us all.

3. ONLY clean during the scheduled time:

Schedule the cleaning when it works into your week. That was a HUGE one for me, as I mentioned above!

Make sure when you schedule these times to STICK TO THEM. If you put cleaning down for an hour a day, try choosing a task to do each day and STICK TO THAT HOUR. When the timer goes off that’s it, no more. You can pick up cleaning the next day during your scheduled time for it.

This helps you get ALL of your cleaning done over a week’s time, not one crazy day spent doing 5 hours of cleaning. Seriously, that’s what I used to do before kids.

4. Schedule Down Time

Make sure you put that time to wind down on your schedule! There is NO SHAME in needing mommy re-charge time. Some days that is the ONLY thing that allows us to function properly… as a nice human being. Well that, and maybe a nice big black coffee. Also, if you put in the couple hours of solely playing with the kids, you DON’T feel guilty about taking that “me” time. Your kids might actually be ready for some playing by themselves time… no promises just hopeful thinking!

So far this schedule has worked outstandingly for us. Like I said, not every day is the same. If our activity time runs longer and naps run later things kind of get off kilter a bit BUT I just pick it back up on the schedule I outlined the next day. Tomorrow is always a new day, no sense in getting upset over some off days!

Do you have any tips on how to make the most of your day? I’d love to hear them!❤ Here’s my list:

You can follow Jessica on her blog, Silence is Suspicious, for more of her Momma stories. She also shares her daily adventures on her Instagram.

Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass

Follow our blog, Motherhood: Breaking the Looking Glass, for more stories on Motherhood.

Want to contribute a post? Email us: contact@kindredtogether.com and tell us why!

--

--

silenceissuspicious
Motherhood

Just your average SAHM adjusting to the life of cleaning diapers, wiping snotty noses and trying to keep my sanity.